Symphony no. 95 C minor, Hob. 1:95

Joseph Haydn
Duration: 23'
Allegro moderato
Andante cantabile
Finale. Vivace

The twelve "London Symphonies" form the sublime final chord in Haydn's symphonic œuvre. They were written for the London impresario Johann Peter Salomon, and Haydn himself conducted the first performances when he spent long periods in the English metropolis in 1791/92 and 1794/95.

The Symphony No. 95, dated in the autograph as 1791, begins in C minor, but the recapitulation of the first movement already turns major, and the Rondo finale is in radiant C major. Popular among cellists are the two middle movements, in which Haydn endowed his instrument with wonderful solo passages.

The Study Edition adopts the musical text of the Haydn Complete Edition and thus guarantees the highest scholarly quality. An informative preface and a short critical report make this handy score the ideal companion for all Haydn fans and those who want to become one.